Corned Beef and Egg Sandwich, Stage Deli, Troy, MI

15 10 2008

Late this afternoon, I was looking for a sandwich for a late lunch/early dinner.  I found this beauty sitting in the display case at Stage Deli at the Somerset Collection food court.  It was just the right kind of savory treat I was craving at the time.  Immediately, I ordered one.  It was the first time I had ever seen this sandwich offered there.

The sandwich was made by cooking beaten eggs on a flat-top grill.  After the egg became solid, the corned beef was laid on top.  Some sort of white cheese was placed on top of the meat.  Everything was folded up like an omelette one might find at a diner.  The cook placed the omelette on an onion roll and dressed it with some Grey Poupon Dijon mustard.  Happily, the omelette was a bit too big for the roll.  As you can see from the picture, the sandwich was served with a pickle.  By the way, I ate more than half the sandwich before I remembered to snap a picture.  It looked and tasted that good.

It all came out just like I like a sandwich: meat, cheese, egg, and condiment with a minimum of vegetables.  Actually, the only vegetable life on the sandwich were the bits of onion on the roll.  Sure, sometimes, I appreciate a bit of tomato or Romaine on a sandwich, but more often than not, I’m just interested in the meat, cheese, condiment (usually either mustard or mayonnaise), and bread.  I like that sort of Jewish deli ethos when it comes to a sandwich.  Think lox and plain cream cheese on a poppy seed bagel.  Think hot pastrami on rye with a bit of mustard. The acid for balance comes from the juicy pickle.  Wrap it up in some butcher paper.  Pack it in a brown paper bag.   It’s elemental.  It’s carnal.  It’s an umami lover’s delight.

How did it taste?  It was melt-in-your-mouth marvelous.  The only change I would consider is a substitution of a good pastrami for the corned beef.  Personally, I just prefer the stronger flavor of pastrami to corned beef.  If you love eggs, meat, and cheese, I highly recommend this sandwich.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment